auld lang syne

January 1, 2007

2006 has been a great year. And I’m guessing that this new year is ushered in by many with resolutions intended with a year-long commitment. But of course, me and old-school-cliches like resolutions don’t quite go hand in hand. If I can so easily give up my weeks-long-planned dieting at the sight of one big, healthy, yummilicious fried chicken, trust me, I can forego my resolution in a week. Haha. Tried and tested. I’m not that proud of my resolution-commitment defieciency, but well, its a fact that I just suck at personal vows.

 That’s not to say that I do not have anything planned ahead for the big 2007. I do! (Haha, pun so intended.) My so-called trial working year has ended, and I’m going back to work with full drive to earn big bucks and hoping to dive into big investments. Most importantly, I’m seeking for self-betterment, hoping and praying to be a better person than I had ever been. Spiritually, mentally, physically. I want to ground myself in my roots, and to be strong in my principles and to be disciplined as a good muslim and a good daughter and a good citizen. Insyallah.

Let’s also be thankful for all the blessings bestowed on us for the year 2006. We weren’t killed. Our houses are not destroyed. We did not have to starve. We did not go through hell. Even if we thought we did, we did not. Thank God for that. But there were those who did. And let us pray that life would be better for one and all in the coming years. Insyallah.

 

Happy new year. =)

Leave a Reply

